***This company may have ceased operation and/or its website is not functional. Quote requests are disabled for this tour operator.***

African Wild Tours

11 reviews
Reviews: 11
Tour packages: 15 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 52
Main focus: Luxury safaris
Established: 2011
Headquarters: Uganda
Languages: Dutch, English, German, Swahili


Contact info

About African Wild Tours

African Wild Tours is a fully licensed safari company in Uganda operating in Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania and Rwanda. We organise gorilla safaris, wildlifetours and chimpanzee tracking tours,boat trips,mountain trekking tours, community visits, River Nile Excursions,Honeymoon tours and making Hotel Reservations. We arrange all these activities basing on our clients' interest and budget and time. We are an environmental friendly company and therefore tend to use those lodges that are eco friendly and strongly neglect ones run by hunting companies. All our Staff have visited the sites and therefore being in touch with us means being in touch with ones who know what is on the real ground. Feel free to get in touch for a free quote or travel advice.
"Murchison Falls and Lake Bunyonyi: A great experience "
By: Mir
Safari enthusiast
Netherlands Netherlands
14 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2016 Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2019

Daniel was a very friendly and easygoing tour guide. He showed us the beautiful parts of Uganda. We could always contact him with questions and he was always willing to help us. His enthusiasm made the safari much more fun. We felt safe all the time and he gave us an experience we'll never forget. I can certainly recommend him to others! Also a big gratitude to his friend and driver Hakim.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Mir
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Netherlands Netherlands
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Feb. 2016
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2016

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Once in a lifetime Ugandan experience"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
8 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2020

Daniel is extremely kind, knowledgeable and accommodating. He delivered on everything as advertised and more. If you are looking for an incredible experience, look no further than African Wild Tours! Thank you for the once in a lifetime experience, Daniel!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: May. 2019
Reviewed: May. 28, 2019

8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A true taste of the African wilderness"
By: SARGE
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
64 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2017 Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2020

This tour of Uganda certainly gave us a memorable taste of what Uganda has to offer for a tourist, so pleased that we by chance, browsed the internet and met Daniel. His communication before we arrived was regular and we felt like friends as soon as we met at the airport. He personalised our tour according to our interest in birds as well as being very knowledgeable about what African wildlife we would see and where it could be found. We had extensive game drives, morning and evening, whilst in the game parks. What he didn't know, we learned together as we researched reference materials. We felt we got excellent value for money with this personalised tour. Daniel has quite a lot of guiding experience, having worked for other companies prior to starting his own, so he knew how to give us combinations of experiences/places that gave us the best value for money and time. In each area where specialised guiding was required, Daniel sourced local guides such as happened in the Rwenzoris. Ignatius was in his local environment as he featured the area for us over three days. Daniel's driving was always vigilant and safe, keeping to low speeds at all times to avoid any dangers and be ready to stop for the many photographic opportunities. The vehicle was comfortable and capable for the wide range of roads and track conditions we encountered. The only drawback was a seal in the side door letting in dust which could be difficult to cope with at times. This was truely a wonderful camping experience for us and being used to tenting most of our lives the holiday was easy to manage with the packing and unpacking of a tent most days. However, I think as Daniel grows his business he should be able to invest in sturdier tents. As there was only two of us touring we sourced our food as we went along, from supermarkets and roadside stalls. It was up to us to take the initiative to let Daniel know what we would like to eat and drink as there were no set menus for each day. In some places we were able to have great restaurant meals. After crossing the Nile on a ferry, a baboon stole some of our food which gave us a good laugh as well as a laugh to some local onlookers. But being Uganda, shopping for food isn't always available, so this meant some extra driving the next day to purchase some more. We needed to visit some schools, staying for a month at one in Uganda and another in Kenya for eight days and Daniel modified the itinerary to suit these needs and made sure we were not reliant on public transport to find these out of the way places. We were very grateful to have the benefit of his experience.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Uganda
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: SARGE
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Australia Australia
Countries visited: Kenya Uganda
Visited: May. 2017
Reviewed: Jul. 04, 2017

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Wonderful holiday"
Safari enthusiast
Germany Germany
7 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2019 Reviewed: May. 24, 2020

We were so impressed with what we saw and did in our 28 days safari through Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania. This company catered for all our safari needs. Best guides, best accommodation and best mix of national parks and sites. In communication, Daniel gave prompt and detailed replies which just makes you curious for the real experience. We saw lots of animals including gorillas, chimpanzee, lions, cheetah, leopard and elephants. If you are looking for an adventure that will give you great value for money, African Wild Tours is the company to deal with.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania Uganda
7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Germany Germany
Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania Uganda
Visited: Feb. 2019
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2019

7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Trip through Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania"
Safari enthusiast
Uganda Uganda
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2017 Reviewed: May. 08, 2020

On our 3-week safari holiday, I tracked mountain gorillas, did white water rafting in Jinja, visited the Masai Mara, Amboseli NP and ended in Zanzibar. The gorillas were a highlight, the animal population in the Mara area was also wonderful. This was a last minute trip and I thank African Wild Tours for handling all my requests. I understand gorilla permits are not easy to secure last minute but they made it happen. Annet, with whom we exchanged several emails, was very responsive and informative. Brian, our guide, who took us through the Uganda and Kenyan leg of the trip, was so professional. Due to his experience, he knew which animals are to be found where and his skills in spotting animals were invaluable to us. Aziz welcomed us in Zanzibar and was eager to let know us anything about his area. Thank you so much. Keep up the good work and I will always recommend this outfitter to other people interested in the same holiday. Jack

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania Uganda
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Uganda Uganda
Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania Uganda
Visited: Aug. 2017
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2017

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"2 weeks fun-filled holiday."
Safari enthusiast
Uganda Uganda
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2016 Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2020

My boyfriend, another couple and I have been on a two weeks safari in Uganda and Rwanda under the guidance of Colline and Daniel of African Wild Tours. This was just part of our two months trip in Africa and some thing we had planned for over a year. We went gorilla tracking, chimpanzee tracking, guided walks and game drives, boat trips and made community visits. We enjoyed every thing beyond our expectation. We were taken good care of by the host team and we always felt safe and comfortable. I cant forget to talk about the lessons we learned about the animals. Our guide was very informed about the animal life, plant species, birds, culture and political atmosphere. We enjoyed traveling with Daniel a lot. Colline, our driver, was very good and the car was good, too.(4 WD Jeep) They were both helpful when it came to packing our luggage, setting up tents (we chose a camping safari) and so many other things. I do recommend them to other travelers.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Rwanda Uganda
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Uganda Uganda
Countries visited: Rwanda Uganda
Visited: Jun. 2016
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Safari for our 6th anniversary"
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2016 Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2020

My husband and I have been married for 5 years. It was getting close to our 6th anniversary and we wanted to make the next celebrations a bit different. Due to suggestions from his and my friends, we thought Uganda would work for a safari. We went to Uganda for 12 days which ended up being memorable due to the numerous interesting things we saw and did in the country. We made game drives (Queen Elizabeth N.P), hiked mountains(mountain Sabinyo) tracked golden monkeys (Mgahinga N.P), tracked chimpanzees (Kyambura gorge) and tracked mountain gorillas (Bwindi Forest. We did a lot of trekking and game drives which we never get chance to do in Belgium. Special thanks go to our Tour operator African Wild Tours and our guide Fredrick who made this safari special. Anna

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Belgium Belgium
Countries visited: Uganda Zambia
Visited: Dec. 2016
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2017

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Uganda-Tanzania Safari"
Safari enthusiast
Norway Norway
47 kudus
Photos (2)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Sep. 2015 Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2019

Am glad to say I had a nice time on my second visit to Africa. I had already been to South Africa, Namibia and Botswana so I had to use this chance to see East Africa. We were a group of 6 and contacted Daniel of African Wild Tours from a friend. He arranged us a nice 18 day safari and had a lot of suggestions. We agreed on visiting the Murchison falls, Kibale Forest, Lake Mburo, Serengeti, and Ngorongoro and relaxing the rest of the remaining days of our holiday by ourselves in Zanzibar. Their team was positively responsive and we chose to use camping sites since we were travelling on a tight budget. Daniel was our guide and driver and learn a lot about wildlife from him. He was a good driver and his eye were very good at spotting animals.The camping sites were secure (guarded by armed game rangers),the vehicle was comfortable just fit for the long journeys. I do recommend African Wild Tours for a tour to Uganda and Tanzania.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania Uganda
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Norway Norway
Countries visited: Tanzania Uganda
Visited: Sep. 2015
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2016

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Murchison falls is the real thing! "
Safari enthusiast
Uganda Uganda
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2016 Reviewed: Aug. 09, 2018

It was the first time I ever visited the falls. A fun-filled lifetime exceptional experience is what I would call it. Indeed it was a once-in-a-lifetime moment for me, thanks to the experienced tour operators.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Uganda Uganda
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Jan. 2016
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Uganda safari"
Safari enthusiast
Germany Germany
14 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2016 Reviewed: May. 25, 2018

What has beautiful landscapes, friendly inhabitants, a huge selection of animals plus very cute and funny guides for a safari? Uganda does! We saw a huge variety of animals and landscapes and not only visited the tourist spots but also met a lot of locals and experienced their culture. It was a wonderful trip with two great guides, David and his partner, who, unlike almost all locals, were ALWAYS on time so you could maximize your day with them. :) ______________________________________________ Wer eine wunderschöne Landschaft, die Einwohner, eine riesige Auswahl an Tieren und dazu noch sehr nette und lustige Guides für eine Safari haben mag, ist hier genau richtig! (: Daniel und sein Partner sind auf jeden Wunsch von uns eingegangen und haben sie verwirklicht:) wir haben eine riesige Vielfalt an Tieren und Landschaften gesehen und nicht nur die Touristenorte besucht sondern auch sehr viele Einheimische und deren Kultur kennengelernt. Es war eine wunderschöne Reise mit zwei perfekten Guides welche im Gegensatz zu fast allen Einheimischen IMMER pünktlich waren und man so den ganzen Tag ausnutzen konnte :)

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Germany Germany
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Feb. 2016
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2016

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Uganda naturally beautiful"
Safari enthusiast
Netherlands Netherlands
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2015 Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2018

It was early this year that I came back from Uganda. At first I did not know what to start with while planning our holiday. I contacted African Wild Tours and everything went right. We insisted to first deposit a small portion of the quoted price to just take care of the chimp permits and accommodation which they accepted. Since it was my second visit to Africa, I travelled with my family, two kids and my wife. We flew to Entebbe using Etihad Airways. On arrival we were picked by a team of two gentlemen (Daniel and Hakim). They welcomed us and our adventure began. We visited, the Murchison Falls, Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, Kibale Forest and Queen Elizabeth National park. We slept in standard lodges, fed on nice meals. The highlights for our safari were: hiking to the top of the Murchison falls to see how the water flows from such a great height with a loud roar and the boat trip on the Kazinga channel where we saw the most animals and birds. Note that the temperature is always warm in these parks, therefore carrying light clothes with you would be a great idea. Our guide (Daniel) was extremely knowledgeable and taught us a lot about the animals plus the country's culture. I hereby recommend African Wild Tours to anyone who has plans to visit Uganda.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Netherlands Netherlands
Countries visited: Rwanda Uganda
Visited: Dec. 2015
Reviewed: Apr. 04, 2016

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 38/100
Based on 11 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (52)