Northern Masailand Safaris

14 reviews
Reviews: 14
Tour packages: 8 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 38
Main focus: Mid-range safaris
Established: 2008
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: Arabic, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish


Contact info

About Northern Masailand Safaris

I was born and raised in a nomadic pastoralist Maasai community in the wilds of Northern Tanzania and, in time, earned the right to call myself a Maasai Warrior. My heritage instilled in me a deep knowledge, understanding, and love for this wondrous land. Now, as owner and manager of Northern Masailand Safaris, I have the privilege of sharing this intimate understanding of the land and its people with my Travelers/ Clients. I established Northern Masailand forward to welcoming you to Tanzania! Northern Masailand Safaris, is an African wildlife safari is a vacation of a lifetime. Whether you are on foot, or just listening to the early morning dawn chorus, you will discover a magic that no other continent can offer. We at Northenzone Masailand Safaris go that extra mile to ensure that you to feel the same magic that so many of our clients have experienced before. Tanzania has whatever you are dreaming about – be it tropical islands, beaches or climbing the highest.
"memories that last a lifetime"
By: holly
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (0)
Visited: Aug. 2016 Reviewed: Oct. 04, 2016

We had an amazing 5 days safari. We landed in dar-es-salaam and went straight to mikumi national park. Olduzungwa was next followed by selous. Although our trip was short our guide james made us feel at home and premeditated our every need from cold water in the car to our favorite meal before we left. Thank you northern masailand safaris for organising this unforgettable life time safari.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: holly
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2016
Reviewed: Sep. 08, 2016

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Wonderful and well organized trip!"
By: Rick
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
20 kudus
Photos (3)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2020 Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2020

Our trip was truly the trip of a lifetime. We fell so in love with Tanzania and everything about our stay was unbelievable. The hotels and lodges were amazing and everything went so smoothly. All hotel and lodging staff were wonderfully accommodating. We could not have planned a trip so well-organized and fun without Doris through her company Northern Masailand Safaris. She is outstanding and did a great job for us. Thank you from our hearts.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Rick
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2020
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2020

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Tremendous safari experience "
By: Rick
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
20 kudus
Photos (3)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Oct. 2019 Reviewed: Sep. 05, 2020

I book with Northern Masailand Safaris, because Henry who organised my trip was very promt to answer all questions and reply all my emails on time. This is the 4th trip I have booked with this company. Every time Henry has surpassed all expectations. The safari Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater was tremendous. This was a life memory list for me and I can't believe what a wonderful time I had. Doris and Ryan we're great, kind, helpful and very professional, I can't thank them enough. We had enjoyed Zanzibar Island for another 5 days. It's like paradise, swimming with whale sharks speechless. Thank you Henry for organising this.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Rick
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2019
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2020

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable and life changing experience ever "
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2019 Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2020

We had the most stunning outing this time! They were so kind and educated. We saw the most mind-blowing sights in Tanzania, including the scene and creatures! His vehicles are clean, fantastic chefs, his staff is helpful & excellent guides. Highly recommended for others to experience too!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Nov. 2019
Reviewed: Mar. 09, 2020

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Photogenic Tanzania"
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
20 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2016 Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2020

Tanzania has to be one of the most photogenic places in the world. Everything seemed camera-ready. Henry was the first face we saw as we exited the airport which immediately made us feel safe and at home. The greenery that followed us as we drove to Arusha was surreal. I had to ask for us to stop so that I could try and capture how perfectly the sun reflected on the scene. I had booked a photographic safari, I got more than I bargained for. I got take a picture of the big five up close thanks to my guide and the sturdiness of the war-bus we were in. He would wake us up early in the morning to capture the dew as it was still fresh: he knew exactly where the endangered birds were, that I wanted to capture just in case they go extinct. The guide was experienced and has almost animalistic instincts as he knew when and where the animals were. I also had the privilege of shooting Masai women and children as they went about their busy day. When my day came to leave I didn't want to leave this sanctuary. I think Henry sensed this and came to give us a send of dinner. I am already looking forward to my next trip. Asante Sana Northern Masailand safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
20People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2016
Reviewed: Sep. 07, 2016

20People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"What an outstanding company Northern Masailand Safaris, deeply down my heart they did a great job!!"
By: Laura1
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2019 Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2020

They definitely need to be ranked as a number 1 tour company in the East African region. My fiancee and I did a 12 days safari in Tanzania. From the moment we checked in we were basically treated like the MVPs. They are services are just exceptional. We went to their office for debriefing and what an excellent staff they have. They have the whole team working on making sure your trip would be as pleasant as possible without any problems. I wanted to have a traditional wedding as a surprise gift to my fiancee and NMLS went above and beyond to make this day a memorable one. They were so good at keeping this secret and the main attraction for the ceremony made the surprise even more magical. What can I say about our driver Edward?

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Laura1
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2019
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2020

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A dream come true"
By: joyce
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
20 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2016 Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2019

I have always wanted to go on safari!! Choosing Northern Masailand Safaris was the best thing that ever happened to me. From the pick up at the airport, the amazing service, the experienced tour guides and the talented chefs. All this made the 8 days on safari a dream!! My 8 friends and I couldn't be happier :)! I will definitely be booking with henry again come January, and recommending him to friends and family. This company is very reliable and I highly recommend him to anyone who wants to have and exceptional safari experience.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
20People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: joyce
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2016
Reviewed: Sep. 06, 2016

20People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Incredible experience"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
56 kudus
Photos (3)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2015 Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2019

From the second I reached out to Northern Masailand Safaris to help with our plans, everything was very easy, smooth, and professional. Henry did a wonderful work figuring out what kind of camps we wanted and what our priorities were and the combination of our two camps was a really good choice for us - and very different experiences. Furthermore, when we got to each camp, everything was flawlessly ready and set up for us. Asante!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
21People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2015
Reviewed: May. 05, 2016

21People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unbeaten experience with Northern Masailand Safaris"
By: kellyl
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
15 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2016 Reviewed: May. 15, 2019

Safety, fun, security, wildlife, great food, amazing service, knowledgeable guides, spectacular views, rhinos, hippos, elephants, lions, giraffes, baboons, warthogs, antelope, luxurious camping, friendly people, clean water, timely activities, adventure. These are just a few words that come to mind when trying to describe the heavenly experience I had with Northern Masailand safaris. I was on a budget and therefore booked a budget safari. However, Henry managed to make the budget stretch a long way and gave me memories that I will never forget. You truly get more than your money's worth with this company. Will definitely be going back with my boyfriend for the Zanzibar package.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
15People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: kellyl
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2016
Reviewed: Sep. 08, 2016

15People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Cheers Henry!"
By: matt
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
15 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2016 Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2019

Thank you Northern Masailand for an exceptional trip. Henry is your go to guy if you want to experience both nature and what Tanzania has to offer. Couldn't get enough of the cheap Tanzanian beer! Will definitely be coming back.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
15People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: matt
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2016
Reviewed: Sep. 08, 2016

15People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Wow, Northern Masailand Safaris was outstanding"
Safari enthusiast
Germany Germany
22 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2015 Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2018

Our guide Jackson was wonderful. His consideration of our safari being the best possible was always the maximum priority. Jackson never hesitated from the goal of 100%+ customer satisfaction. From our experience, you can tell that Northern Masailand Safaris is a professional travel company that puts the client first.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
22People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Germany Germany
Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2015
Reviewed: May. 12, 2016

22People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 66/100
Based on 14 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (38)