Shadows of Africa

15 reviews
Reviews: 15
Tour packages: 7 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 34
Main focus: Budget safaris
Established: 2010
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish


Contact info

About Shadows of Africa

We are proud to be the 2014 winners of the World Travel Awards for Leading Travel Agency and Tour Company in Tanzania! We offer custom safari tours to Tanzania and Kenya as well as gorilla tracking in Rwanda and beach holidays on Zanzibar. Choose us for your very own African experience and make your enguiry now! +255-77-796-2403 USA & CAN 1-800-559-9144 UK 0-808-189-0077 We speak English as well as Slovenian, Croatian, Serbian and Swahili along with French, German and Mandarin!
"Awesome safari in Tanzania!!"
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
76 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2015 Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2018

In late May, my family (husband, son, myself) visited several natural areas in Tanzania for a safari. Arranged as a 4 day safari, we visited Tarangire National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, and the Serengeti National Park. While in the NCA we also visited the Leakey museum. It was simply an awesome experience, thanks in large part to the safari company who arranged things (Shadows of Africa) and our guide (Richard). I initially worked with Stacy, who answered my questions, created a plan that met our families needs and wants, and arranged the details so I didn't have to. She was very patient, as I had many questions. When one of our lodge choices suddenly became unavailable (due to fire) she reached out to let us know and helped us to find a suitable replacement.

In-country, we worked with Natasha in the office and Richard as our guide. Natasha was very gracious, and Richard is simply the best! We enjoyed our time with him very much and he is an excellent, experienced game tracker. We were able to see the Big 5, many with little babies, and so much more. My husband and son love the big cats, and I adore giraffes. Richard was so knowledgeable about all sorts of animals, and if he did not know an answer, he used books that he keeps in his vehicle to help find the information we wanted.

All in all, this is not only an excellent trip, but arranging the details through Shadows of Africa is priceless because you are in good hands! If you have the opportunity to have Richard as I guide, jump at the chance. He is the best!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: May. 2015
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"2 days on safari in Tanzania"
Safari enthusiast
SloveniaSlovenia
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2017 Reviewed: Nov. 04, 2020

We had two days safari. First day we were in Tarangire NP and second day in Ngorongoro Crater.

Breathtaking landscapes and amazing wildlife viewing both days.

Marjeta W. helped us organize the tour and we are very happy that everything went well.
Marjeta was so fast in responding on our questions and she has responded to all our desires. So first of all: thank you, Marjeta.

Our driver Dickson J. was waiting for us for about 1 hour in Arusha airport, because our flight was late because of the fog in Arusha. Our safari included an English-speaking driver. We expected someone who will tell us: this is a lion, there are zebras, they eat that and they sleep there. But not Dickson, he is more than an English-speaking driver. He knows a lot, he is like knowledge base. The driver is available for your questions all days. He told us about every country of Africa that we asked about, told us about Masais family and he helped us to find a accommodation in Moshi. So thank you too, Dickson.

He showed us more than we expected, we saw elephants family, lions attack, tropes of zebras, flamingos, monkeys and so on.
Our first night accommodation in Eileen's Trees Inn lodges was very comfortable and clean. The food in »lunch box« was great too.

We definitely recommend to use Shadows of Africa for a safari.
Like they say in Tanzania a lot: Hakuna matata, Shadows of Africa has the best staff and they take care of everything.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
SloveniaSlovenia
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Jul. 2017
Reviewed: Aug. 03, 2017

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best trip ever!"
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2015 Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2019

Shadows of Africa was our tour operator for my husband and my first Safari in Tanzania. We had the best experience and the best trip of our lives. We knew Tanzania was the place to be, but this was above all expectations. The place is magical, but what makes a good trip is who you deal with, and this company was so professional from the beginning to the end. Always there to answer all our questions, very friendly, suggesting whats they think is best for you, and making you feel comfortable through the whole process. Our guide was fantastic, the food was good everywhere we went and the lodges were even better than we expected. I already want to go back and I would book with Shadows of Africa again without a doubt.
Booking with them means feeling relaxed and safe.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2015
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Couldn't have been better"
Safari enthusiast
BrazilBrazil
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2016 Reviewed: May. 22, 2019

We took a three day safary in Tanzania. Everything went exactly as planned. We were greatly satisfied with all the steps, starting with the affordable prices, the flexibility in designing a tour fitted to our interests and the very detailed information sent by Jake.

Once in Arusha we found a very warm reception. Natasha, the owner, met us twice, before and after the safari. The safari itself was perfect. Additionally, Natasha helped one of us with an unexpected issue fully unrelated to the safari (a visa for the UAE) in a very efficient way. I wholeheartedly recommend Shadows of Africa.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
BrazilBrazil
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Nov. 2016
Reviewed: Dec. 07, 2016

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A Truly Memorable Experience with an Outstanding Safari Company"
Safari enthusiast
CanadaCanada
14 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2013 Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2019

What can I say? Shadows of Africa knocked it out of the ballpark. Even though I was booked into the "standard" package, most of the amenities and camps would fall into the luxury category IMHO. Our guide Timo really knew his stuff providing info such as life span, mating habits, predators, average height and weight and even unique anecdotes about everything from the smallest bird to biggest of the Big 5. He's a great animal spotter too -- there were times when we were scratching our heads thinking, "How did he manage to see THAT?"
Owner Natasha checked in daily via phone to make sure we were happy. Overall 10 out of 10. Would definitely book with them again.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
CanadaCanada
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2013
Reviewed: Oct. 08, 2013

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Trip of a Lifetime -- We experienced it all!!"
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2015 Reviewed: Feb. 07, 2019

We took our six children, ranging in age from 22-7, on a 10-day safari through Tanzania. We visited many national parks (The highlight being the Serengeti) and the Ngorongoro Crater, which is teeming with wildlife. One of the days in the Serengeti, we counted about 50 lions in all that we saw!! We loved seeing the babies of the various animals, and the fact that we could stop and watch for as long as we wanted. There was no rushing! Also, we attended a Catholic Mass, which was a unique and unforgettable experience for our family. That was a last-minute add-on to our itinerary, and we really appreciated their ability to be flexible and accommodate our request! The food they prepared, even in the middle of the Serengeti in the tented camps, was exceptional, which was a genuine joy and surprise to us. The whole trip was just such a stark contrast to our country and daily life -- it felt like we were transported to another world!
A world of natural beauty, wonderful people, and simpler life.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Jun. 2015
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Ngorongoro Crater"
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2015 Reviewed: Nov. 08, 2018

I chose to go on a 1 day safari to Ngorongoro crater in the last minute, through Shadows of Africa. My experience with Jake in coordinating the schedule was outstanding. He made every attempt to make the schedule work. The email responses were very prompt.

The safari itself was awesome and I couldn't have asked for a better experience! Richard was my guide, he is very experienced, friendly and knew his ways around at the crater!
There was no delay in the arrival/departure times. The lunch was good too and most importantly we were able to see most of the animals!!

I would definitely recommend Shadows of Africa to anyone I know without a doubt!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2015
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2016

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Thrilling trip for young and old!"
By: LuRue
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
14 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2015 Reviewed: Jul. 07, 2018

While planning a 3-month multi-country trip with my granddaughter, beginning in January, I felt at a loss at where to begin to find a wildlife safari to kick off our trip. Turning to the Internet, I began to read top reviews for Shadows of Africa, so decided to contact them first, expecting to wait a few days for an answer as it was a weekend. The response came within hours from Stacy (in California) and that was the beginning of a beautiful friendship! From then on, all questions and concerns were addressed almost immediately.

Our timing was critical as we needed to be at our first volunteer program within a certain time frame, I wanted to arrive two days early to reduce jet lag, and I wanted to know what would happen after we arrived at an unfamiliar airport. I needn’t have been concerned about any of these things. Stacy assured me that everything could be handled nicely, and she was so right! She made arrangements for us at a clean, comfortable hotel, an airport pickup and drop-off, and made provisions for our extra luggage while we would be on safari. Knowing all that beforehand eliminated a lot of potential travel stress.

As we were checking into the hotel after a morning arrival, we met not only Richard, who would be our guide/driver, but also Natasha, the owner of Shadows of Africa. What a wonderful and personal welcome! We headed to our room shortly after for some much-needed sleep. Richard would be meeting us the following morning for a day tour of Arusha. Stacy had mentioned a possible visit to an orphanage that the company supports, but we hadn't expected to have the extra day of attention. Richard gave us time at a museum, then strolled the streets of Arusha with us so that we could get a feel for local activity. Even though it took him an hour and a half to drive home, due to Arusha traffic, he wanted us to have a full day. The day included a visit, not only to the orphanage, but also to Natasha’s home for another visit with her. She assured us that we could keep our extra luggage there, which helped us immensely. We felt we were in the hands of friends more than a commercial outfit.

From the time we met Richard, through our day tour, then our 4-day safari, I constantly peppered Richard with questions, not only about the parks, but about life, customs, behaviors, current events, and even personal opinions. Richard always responded graciously, even when felt I was being a nuisance and apologized. Our days were full of wonder as we saw all the beautiful animals, even being within a stone’s toss of 27 elephants crossing in front of us and stared in awe at two magnificent male lions within whispering distance. We saw everything we could have possibly seen. But just as important to me was the chance to exchange thoughts and opinions with Richard, an outstanding host (guide/driver)! The only negative note to the experience was that Godi, our cook, thought we didn't like his cooking. We could never convince him that our appetites couldn't handle his overly-generous portions of wonderfully-prepared food.

I have already recommended Shadows of Africa to one of the volunteers at our next destination, and I will continue to do so, every chance I get.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: LuRue
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:KenyaTanzania
Visited: Jan. 2015
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Fantastic safari and Kilimanjaro climb"
Safari enthusiast
CanadaCanada
14 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2015 Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2018

I can't say enough about how great our trip to Tanzania with Shadows of Africa was. From start to finish, everything was handled professionally. Our trip began with a five-day safari in Lake Manyara National Park, the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater with guide Siriko and cook Silvanos. Siriko was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We still can't believe how he managed to locate those leopards! His easy laugh and laid-back attitude made the experience very enjoyable.

The second part of our trip was the highlight, hiking Mt. Kilimanjaro in seven days via the Machame Route. Our head guide August has been guiding up the mountain for close to 20 years and his experience and calm demeanour inspired our trust. Assistant guide Amiri was equally capable and supportive, often setting the pace for our little group. Our guides and team of 12 porters, cook Paul and server Emanuel worked hard to make our lives easier.

Last but not definitely not least, we have to mention Natasha and the office staff in Arusha, who welcomed us back, allowed us to hang out at the offices and use the wifi and loaned us a driver and vehicle for our last day before our evening flight back to Europe. Our trip was nearly over--they didn't have to be so accommodating, but they made us feel like family friends.

We would highly recommend Shadows of Africa for a safari and/or Kilimanjaro hike.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
CanadaCanada
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2015
Reviewed: Jan. 02, 2016

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Want to go back again"
Safari enthusiast
United StatesUnited States
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2014 Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2018

Recently back from a 2 week trip in Tanzania. I can't say enough good things about my time there. Shadows of Africa planned an absolutely amazing safari and helped put together an awesome side trip to Zanzibar. The entire trip, down to each tiny detail, was flawless.
Not only did we see all of the Big 5, but we saw them several times throughout our safari . While having dinner in the Serengeti, we could hear lions talking to each other in the distance....truly unbelievable!!!
Our guide was a wealth of knowledge. It was easy to see that he loves his job, and truly has a passion for Africa and its wildlife and culture.
A lot of people say that their African safari was a trip of a lifetime....
I can't say that, because it was so amazing, I know I will be going back again. This will not be my one and only time there!
Thank you Shadows of Africa!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United StatesUnited States
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Nov. 2014
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A brilliant safari experience"
Safari enthusiast
AustraliaAustralia
14 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2014 Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2018

I've recently returned from a four day safari experience with Shadows of Africa Tours. From start to finish my group and I were treated to a flexible and enjoyable trek through Tarangire, Serengeti, and Ngorogoro Crater.

Our group opted to sample a range of accommodation options during the trip, but from the budget to the heights of luxury - it was clear that Shadows of Africa had carefully vetted all lodges & hotels to ensure they met quality standards. Every lodge had WiFi, pleasant facilities, and accommodating staff.

Our driver, Timo, was a font of knowledge when it came to the Serengeti. His keen eyes were a source of wonder for us - he was even able to spot a Serval Cat from a good 500m away! When he wasn't directing our attention to another beautiful animal in its natural habitat, he was quiet and allowed us to chatter away noisily in the back of the car. While Land Cruisers are far from limousines in terms of comfort, we had ample room for ourselves and our belongings, and were grateful for the vehicle once the roads really devolved.

Over the course of four days we saw the entirety of the 'Big Five' and almost every other animal we'd hoped to see, with only the cheetah eluding us. We got some stunning photos of bull elephants, lions, and even a leopard resting post-kill. I couldn't have been more pleased with the sheer variety of animals we encountered.

The pre-trip communication from Jake was great, and it was a real pleasure to get to know him and the rest of the Shadows of Africa team while we were whiling away time in Arusha after our safari. Special mention to the feast that was the packed lunch that Natasha provided for the first day of our trip. More food than I could eat!

The real charm of SoA comes in the fact that they're designing a tour specifically for your group. Even once the itinerary was set, we were free to request later or earlier starts as our mood desired. When Lake Manyara looked like it might not yield great results due to the weather, we were quickly and seamlessly shifted to Tarangire instead. You don't get this kind of flexibility in large group tours.

An experience I'd not only recommend to friends, but one I am likely to repeat someday in the future.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited:Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
AustraliaAustralia
Countries visited:Tanzania
Visited: Nov. 2014
Reviewed: Jan. 08, 2015

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 65/100
Based on 15 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Park reviews written by None
...

Loved Lake Manyara

When: Sept. 21, 2014, 3:57 p.m.

Latest photos(34)