KilimanjaroKilimanjaro

Kilimanjaro National Park

50 reviews

Safari suitability: 2/10

Write a review

Visitors will see some big game and other African animals on their trek, but this park is really all about summiting the tallest mountain in Africa.

Found in: Tanzania
Companies: 1057
Tour packages: 535
Wildlife: 2 animals listed
Total area: Encompasses the entire mountain above the tree line
Year established: 1973
Anti-malarial: Not required

What YAS members think

Quality of wildlife:
Not reviewed
Crowdedness:
Quality of lodging:
Not reviewed
Most-visited month:
February
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

Highlights

  • Home to the tallest mountain in Africa.

  • There is the ability to do smaller, day hikes and to see some of Tanzania’s wildlife.

  • The park’s proximity to Arusha makes it easy for people to add a northern Tanzania safari on to their Kilimanjaro summit.

About Kilimanjaro National Park

In the northeastern part of Tanzania, and very close to the Kenyan border, lies the tallest mountain in Africa – Mount Kilimanjaro. At nearly 6000 meters – 5895 m (19,340 ft) – it is the largest free-standing volcanic mass in not only all of Africa, but in all of the world. Kilimanjaro is comprised of several peaks, with Uhuru Peak being the highest. The park was established in 1973 and encompasses the entire mountain above the tree line. In 2005, the park boundary was extended to include the Kilimanjaro National Forest Reserve. 

The vegetation of the mountain varies dramatically as the elevation increases, and it is more pronounced that some other mountains as the base Mount Kilimanjaro or “Kili” starts at around 700 m (2296 ft) on the southern slopes. Climbers will start in a humid, rainforest zone and continue up into alpine desert and finally into the barren, glacial zone. The dramatic variation in climate means layers are a necessity for all those who wish to climb and summit Kilimanjaro. Most people who visit Kilimanjaro National park come to climb and not for a safari. It is, however, possible to see many animals in almost all of the zones, such as: black and white colobus monkeys, blue monkeys and olive baboons. Buffalo, elephants and elands also live here but they are seldom seen. 


What are the climbing routes of Kilimanjaro?

It is generally agreed that Kilimanjaro has six official trekking routes: Lemosho, Machame, Marangu, Rongai, Shira and Umbwe. Marangu and Rongai are considered to be the easier routes, but also the less-scenic of routes, particularly Rongai. Marangu is nicknamed the ‘Coca-Cola Route’ due to the huts along the way where people can buy Coke and because it’s quicker and easier than most of the other routes. It also is not a circuitous route and climbers must use the same route for their descent. Rongai is the only northern approach to Kilimanjaro and, although it is one of the easier routes, its final summit is one of the most difficult. Of all the routes, Machame is considered the most scenic but steeper route, which also makes it one of the most popular and crowded routes. It has the highest success rate of the six routes. Shira and Lemosho routes also have good success rates and are scenic options with fewer visitors than Machame. Umbwe is a very direct route, which means it is a shorter option, but also offers much less time for acclimatization. It tends to be less popular than the other routes. 

Climbers are advised to allot anywhere between five and nine days for summit and descent, depending on fitness levels and route selected. Many people also opt for an extra day for acclimatization, which can have a significant impact on success rate. It is recommended that climbers and trekkers thoroughly research their guide and outfitter, as the guide can make or break the trip. There are numerous companies offering guided treks up Mt. Kilimanjaro, and a bit of research prior to choosing an outfitter will pay off in the long run. 


When is the best time to climb Kilimanjaro?

Kilimanjaro can be climbed year-round. The months which are considered to be optimum climbing months are January, February, and September. These months are high tourist season. The end of March through May is the heavy rains seasons, which means the mountain may be shrouded in heavy cloud. It does, however, mean the crowds are much thinner. The winter months of June through September are also recommended, but temperatures tend to be lower than in December through February. 

"Dont think about it , Just do it ! "
Safari guru
KenyaKenya
250 kudus
Photos (10)
Reviews (17)
Visited: Mar. 2008 Reviewed: May. 25, 2013

Located in Tanzania, Kilimanjaro is the tallest mountain in Africa. A wonder, too tempting to resist for the adventurous kind. A tempting of fate, an undertaking few people have conquered . And here we were a team of 5 individuals, it was past the 2007 election violence in Kenya and we were here to climb for peace. There was no looking back, our climb was to convey a message of togetherness, unity, hope and most of all endurance. Endurance of the Kenyan people to live in peace harmony and justice. A professional and experienced crew to help with the climb is highly recommended and we chose climb Kili for that service. Time was not a problem and so we decided to take the 8 day Lemosho route . The route was beautiful, attitude manageable, our guides and group of porters were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Along the way we saw monkeys traversing here and there making funny sounds as if to chastise us . Nevertheless we marshaled on, and A few days hiking and we finally joined the other routes . The lemosho route was manageable, no altitude sickness by my team members, just a lot of peeing every few min during the climb. Finally the summit was on our sight, we had come for this. We left the last camp at 12am, our flag ready we climbed through the night. A couple of hours later and we were there at the summit, fog clouded our vision but there was no doubt we were here, battling the odds, all of us were here, the clearest message we could ever send--togetherness and unity. The view from Africa's eye was amazing, unforgettable for lack of a better word. The climb down was a bit challenging as the snow seemed to get deeper and deeper, our energy depleted but our resolve was still there,( snacks on high altitude is not advised ) so we marshaled on. The hike was a success, our message was clearly conveyed. Mt Kilimanjaro is a worthy challenge, you wont regret it, don't think about it, just do it!

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
KenyaKenya
Visited: Mar. 2008
Reviewed: May. 25, 2013

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Sort by:

"Fantastic experience!"
ItalyItaly
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2021 Submitted in:

Preparation, both physical and psychological, is a must!! The Machame Route is beautiful but it asks its toll. The lack of oxygen makes every step difficult but if your stamina is high enough you will see the top of this beautiful mountain.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
ItalyItaly
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent safari with Mgalaa | ОТЛИЧНОЕ САФАРИ С КОМАНДОЙ МГАЛА."
TanzaniaTanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2021 Submitted in:

We did the Machame Route 7 days and summited up Kilimanjaro. We also took a day trip to the waterfall / coffee plantation and beautiful spring.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
TanzaniaTanzania
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Kilimanjaro hike"
TanzaniaTanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Apr. 08, 2021 Submitted in:

-Choose Lemosho Route has the best views and easy even for those who has less backpacking experience -Remember to take diamox one day before the climbs -Tipping is highly appreciated

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
TanzaniaTanzania
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Apr. 08, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Satisfied with the level of services, highly recommend"
TanzaniaTanzania
1 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2021 Submitted in:

-if you don't have hiking experience choosing six day instead of five is the best just because it's add one day for acclimatization hence give a high chance of making to the top - Tipping is highly recommended at the end of climbing

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Marangu Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
TanzaniaTanzania
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Still dreaming of Africa and can't wait to return!"
By: Patty
United StatesUnited States
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2018 Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2021 Submitted in:

Physical preparations to fully enjoy this trip is a must. While the trek is not technically difficult - the altitude adds challenges that the more fit you are, the better you will enjoy the experience.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Rongai Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Patty
None
United StatesUnited States
Visited: Feb. 2018
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Hike Kilimanjaro on the Lemosho Route"
TanzaniaTanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021 Submitted in:

The food was filling , nice and homemade & was completely tailored to our taste and needs. For example, they added less sugar to the porridge and less salt to certain dishes on our request. Kilimanjaro is beautiful and was the most wonderful experience.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
TanzaniaTanzania
Visited: Feb. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing company and great staff"
TanzaniaTanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021 Submitted in:

They medically checked us daily and forced us to walk slowly (Pole Pole). We could enjoy the walk and we did, after a tough climb overnight under a full moon, reach the summit just when the moon was setting and the sun rising. The first 2 days we walked on a busier trail, but on day 3 we moved onto the northern side and we were practically alone there. The beauty is just astonishing! We felt very well prepared for the summit ascent, physically and mentally.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
TanzaniaTanzania
Visited: Feb. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Happy to meet Seko safaris team fantastic"
KazakhstanKazakhstan
1 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021 Submitted in:

The guides were truly exceptional and exceeded our expectations in every way. Their concern for our health and welfare and in helping us to achieve our goal was top-notch. The food on the climb was far better than we expected. Also five days on safari with Seko Safaris was a once in a lifetime experience for us.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
KazakhstanKazakhstan
Visited: Feb. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Life changing Trip!"
TanzaniaTanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021 Submitted in:

We were welcomed with open arms, felt like part of the family. The food was amazing, and varied special mention to chef and our waiter. We bought lots of snacks and sweets to share with the crew which they were very grateful for, but trust me you don’t go hungry even if you don't bring your own with you. We chose to have a private toilet, which we didn’t at first think was necessary, but it is a lot nicer than venturing far away to the big toilets, and it also gives another porter a job

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Northern Circuit Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
TanzaniaTanzania
Visited: Feb. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 02, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Surely impossible to improve on this experience."
TanzaniaTanzania
1 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 01, 2021 Submitted in:

We did it!!! We climbed during 5 days through Marangu Route. We saw beautiful landscapes, and it was very challenging to get my own body to the summit of Africa. I am not a sportive woman and this was my first experience of trekking. But we couldn't do without the Seko safaris team !! There is no word to describe them, no money to give back what they offered to us;they encouraged us every day, carried our 20 kilos bags whereas my own body seemed so heavy at this altitude. They made everything to make us comfortable: after our daily hike, we arrived at our camp for the night, and we were like princes and princesses : all our luggages were already in the tent , the tasty and consistent food was ready ( thank you to chef Richard aka Kili Mama !! ) I couldn't imagine to have this kind of confort at this altitude (and it was also my first experience of camping!!) Our guides Rahema, Paul, Johnathan were very careful and gave us self confidence. They even checked every day our blood oxygen saturation!! Our porters were always laughing, smiling, dancing , they participate to make this experience unique. I will always remember Haroun , who literally carried me to go down after the summit!!!. Joshua, our waiter and singer , Richard, Daoudi, and the others. They were all very kind to us and made that this experience was not only a mountain hike, but also human unforgettable experience. I will recommend Seko safaris to all my friends and family!! And go go go to the summit if it is YOUR dream: you will never regret that.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Marangu Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
TanzaniaTanzania
Visited: Feb. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 01, 2021

1Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more

Driving to Kilimanjaro National Park

Due to its proximity to JRO, Kilimanjaro Internationnal Airport, the drive to Kili is around an hour to 90 minutes, depending on which route you'll be climbing. 

Riverside Shuttle also runs between Nairobi, Arusha, Moshi, Kilimanjaro and JRO and is an option for budget travelers. 

The following airlines travel to Kilimanjaro National Park


company logo

Scheduled domestic services in Tanzania. Air Tanzania Corporation (ATC) the Tanzanian flag-carrier, was established on 11 March, 1977, to operate the services suspended following the dissolution of East African Airways (EAA), which was owned jointly by Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

As Salaam Air has grown to be a leading air carrier between the Tanzanian Islands. Our experienced team understands that customer satisfaction is important to the creation of a successful flight operation. Thus, we go above and beyond to satisfy our clients. The airline plies eight routes to promote tourism within and outside the country. We have two fuel-efficient aircraft – Cessna 208B Grand Caravan and Embraer EMB 120 Brasilia, which are good for the environment and the safety of our clients.We would like to help you discover more about our Islands here on our website and at every step of your journey Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Coastal Aviation is an airline operating out of Dar es Salaam - charter flights. Coastal Aviation flying to some 100 strips located in some of the most isolated pockets of the East African Region. The scheduled Coastal network also connects visitors to Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda with the world-famous Serengeti, links the emerging tourism destinations of Mozambique with the Southern Tanzania parks of Selous and Ruaha, and unites the tropical island paradises of Pemba, Zanzibar, Mafia and Fanjove Private Iaslandwith the National Parks and towns of the mainland. Our state of the art fleet is composed of 20 aircraft and has been expertly-adapted to the African safari environment, without compromise to safety and comfort. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flightlink is a scheduled airline with Air Operator Certificate (AOC) and Air Service License (ASL) granted by Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority & Kenya Civil Aviation Authority to conduct Private & Scheduled Flight under Public Transport category within the region. All the aircraft in our fleet are chosen for their excellent safety records and their ability to perform in even in the most hostile conditions, so landing be it in the bush or on tarmac is not at all taxing. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

At flydubai we’re committed to making air travel more affordable. Dubai based flydubai operates routes to more than 95 destinations across the Middle East, Subcontinent, Africa, Russia and Eastern Europe. flydubai is dedicated to reducing the cost of air travel in the region. We keep things simple, reducing our operating costs and passing the savings on to you. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Precision Air is a publicly-listed Tanzanian airline and a leader in providing scheduled flight services to over 10 destinations within and outside Tanzania from its main hub Dar es Salaam. The company operates on the principle that quick, comfortable and reliable service is the best way to serve its customers. Through its customer-focused approach, many have become part of the Precision Air family. Precision Air started with its headquarters in Arusha - the midpoint between the Cape and Cairo, which is the entry point to many of Tanzania's world-renowned landmarks and national parks. The headquarters of Precision Air are now Dar es Salaam, the business complex of the country, which is home to a vast size of traffic travelling within and outside Tanzania. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premium Charter Service is an air charter broker based in Tanzania. We offer our valued clients a truly exclusive flying experience, one that combines luxury with the convenience of flying privately. Our network of domestic and international operators adheres to strict standards of quality. We deliver a superior experience to our clients with a high level of professionalism. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Regional air is a recognized leader in the aviation industry in Tanzania, the airline began in 1997 with one pilot and one aircraft. They are affiliated to the long-established Nairobi-based domestic airline, Airkenya. We are based in the northern Tanzanian town of Arusha. Arusha is the starting point of safaris into Northern Tanzania, as the airline also offers charters to these various parks and game reserves. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premier safari airline and charter. Safarilink is Kenya's premier safari airline with a network of connecting domestic scheduled services to all the best safari destinations within Kenya and across the border into northern Tanzania. From it's base at Wilson Airport, Nairobi SafariLink provides daily scheduled flights to Masai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo West, Naivasha, Nanyuki, Lewa Downs, Samburu, Lamu, Kilimanjaro, Loisaba, Migori and Diani Beach. Additionally it can also provide private charter flights if a client's particular requirement as regards destination or timing cannot be met by the scheduled services. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

TANZANAIR was formed in 1969 and pioneered aviation throughout Tanzania. Today it continues to live up to its slogan as the“Complete Aviation Company”. It was founded by Dinos J Samaras who managed the Company until he passed away in April 2010. It is now headed by his son John Samaras who was his deputy since 1983. With 45 years’ experience, TANZANAIR offers tailor-made air travel to suit the needs of its customers. With a modern fleet of twin and single-engine Cessna and Beechcraft turbine aircraft, TANZANAIR’s well-established reputation leads the way in air charter services throughout the region. TANZANAIR operates out of its own purpose-built Passenger Terminal located between Terminal I and II at Julius Nyerere International Airport in Dar es Salaam. The passenger lounge is adjacent to the two hangars. It is housed within a secure wall enclosed compound with ample parking facilities. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flown by an international team of pilots, Zantas Air has one of the youngest fleets of Cessna Grand Caravans in Tanzania. These are maintained to the highest safety standards and comply with the ICAO, CESSNA, and TCAA directives. We have an exclusive lounge at Arusha airport. Guests can relax in our comfortable lounge while they wait for their flight. Our operations are designed to suit our client's needs with a customized itinerary based on their schedule. Zantas Air works with its sister company, Mbali Mbali Lodges and Camps, to offer shared charter flights. We fly passengers from Northern Tanzania to Western Tanzania twice a week on Monday and Thursdays. Visit website

Also flies to:

Kilimanjaro map
Articles on Tanzania
...

Is 2021 the year for a safari?

When: Feb. 19, 2021
By: YAS

...

COVID-19 and safaris

When: April 22, 2020
By: YAS