Great Lake Expedition

5 reviews
Reviews: 5
Tour packages: 10 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 38
Main focus: Luxury safaris
Established: 2010
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: English, Swahili


Contact info

About Great Lake Expedition

With some years of experience Great Lake Expedition has a proven expertise on East Africa Adventures. We lead over 400 climbs per year, with more than 600 adventurers climbing with us annually. Literally thousands of climbers have stood on the top of Kilimanjaro and enjoy safaris with us. Our clients have included journalists, photographer and high profile people. Whether you’re travelling on a budget or wanting the best accommodation available, we have the right style for you. Budget or Luxury two levels, but whichever you choose, you’ll be guaranteed one great adventure with us at Great Lake Expedition, here in beautiful Tanzania
"Successfully Kilimanjaro Summit"
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2019 Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2020

Kilimanjaro trekking is a pretty hard activity that cannot be accomplished without proper planning and expert support. Great Lake Expedition organized a 7 day trek using the Machame route for our volleyball team of 9 and it turned out perfectly. They attended perfectly to our needs and listened to our wishes making the climb experience pretty smooth. As the team captain I picked very important leadership traits from Godfrey, the lead guide for our huge party of climbers and climb support crew. I cannot possibly draw fault to any aspect of our trek because our crew was experienced, very professional and fun to be with, we were provided with top class tents, sleeping bags and the invaluable chemical toilet. We really loved and enjoyed the food served during the trek! 100% summit success rate was a proud moment for our team! Great Lake Expedition is definitely a perfect pick for Kilimanjaro trekking

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jun. 2019
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2020

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Memorable experience"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021 Submitted in:

Incredible experience! Definitely one of the trips in my life! 5 star service and highly recommend Great Lake Expedition one of the best adventure I have done. Superb company and crew.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Kilimanjaro climb Lemosho Route 8 day"
By: nat1888
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021 Submitted in:

Climbing the Uhuru peak was a life changing experience for me. Even though this year was a difficult one, the Great Lake Expedition made sure we had the best conditions to enjoy our trip. The guides Innocent, Saidy, Tuma made our team feel strong and ready to face the challenge of the summit. The porters were very friendly and helpful and the cook had remarkable skills making us feel spoiled throughout our journey to the rooftop of Africa. Excellent is not enough for this company. I strongly recommend them as the to-go agency for summits.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: nat1888
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"7 day Machame Route. Thanks to Great Lake Expedition"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2021 Submitted in:

We chose Climb Kili based on a referral from a friend. We could not have asked for a better group of guides and porters. Innocent and Saidy (007) were our guides and we could not have been happier with them both. Both made sure we had sufficient breaks during our climb and let us know what to expect the next day. Two of us were a little worried when we learned our group of four would be split into two groups for our summit climb. We had followed Innocent for four and half days and were now going to reach the summit led by Saidy. Our worries were completely left behind as soon as we began our ascent. Saidy set our tempo (pole pole) and wanted us to reach the summit as much as we did. A short way in, he was quick to see that I was overheating and promptly had me remove my parka - what a difference! A couple of times we had slower groups in front of us and he led us on routes around them. His knowledge of the trail with only headlamps was amazing. When we caught up to the other two in our group he made sure we all made it to Stella Point before heading for the summit. Four out of four of made it to Uhuru Peak with huge smiles on our frozen faces. I would highly recommend Great Lake Expedition. We did the 7 day Machame route with our summit being New Year's day. All of our porters were amazing, but the top of my list were Chef (stomach engineer), Swalehe, Juma, Tom and Salim (toilet engineer).

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Kilimanjaro at its finest"
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2020 Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2020

I can't speak with enough gratitude about everyone at Great Lake Expedition. This was definitely an experience of a lifetime. In August 2020, our group consisted of 12 members in total (7 teenagers, 4 adults and 1 senior) who went on an 8-day trek of the Lemosho Route to the roof of Africa. Throughout the entire trek, we were accompanied by a crew of 40 members led by the guide Godbless and Ayubu. This crew was outstanding. They were very thoughtful in seeking out the best place to pitch our tents at every campsite. The porters were always running up the mountain to ensure your tent is set-up and your bags are in your tents before you arrive. The cooks were also very thoughtful by cooking a menu designed for tourists while taking attention to some of our group member's dietary restrictions. Personally, I did not expect to be eating fried chicken at 3800m. On summit night, the crew was not only there to assist us through the toughest part of the trek, but also give us the encouragement needed to reach the peak. However, unlike all the other reviews that you will most likely read on this page, our team witnessed non-ordinary circumstances that had put the Great Lake Expedition crew to the test. On day 5 while climbing up the Barranco Wall, a porter from a different company experienced difficulty breathing. The Great Lake Expedition crew assisted with the rescue, ensuring that the ill porter gets over the wall while providing oxygen support alongside some of her own colleagues from the other company. That porter was then evacuated by helicopter from Karanga. Another instance was on day 7 after summiting the peak. This time, it was one of our own. One member of our trek team fell extremely weak while at Barafu camp. After further examination, it was clear that the ill member needed to go down further altitude. However, during this time, the experienced Great Lake Expedition team ensured to have multiple plans in place, including helicopter evacuation and treatment in Arusha. With Great Lake Expedition, you will surely be in good care. While coming down the mountain on day 8, we realized that without the Great Lake Expedition crew, no one on our trek team would have even had a chance of summitting the mountain. No words can ever describe how thankful our team is for having Great Lake Expedition on our side during our memorable trek.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2020
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2020

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 70/100
Based on 5 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff